Use of 4DryField® PH for adhesion prevention:

Using the bellows applicator, spray 4DryField® PH generously onto all areas that need to be protected from adhesions. Then sprinkle the 4DryField® PH with isotonic saline solution until a gel completely covers the affected surface. To achieve optimum results, the 4DryField® PH gel should generously cover all of the areas that need to be protected from the formation of adhesions.

To obtain the best possible adhesion prevention, there should also be no free blood on the site that could mix with the 4DryField® PH gel. Fibrin or other blood components that contaminate the gel can cause the treatment to be unsuccessful. Therefore, please ensure that sufficient haemostasis has been achieved before going ahead with the adhesion prevention.


4DryField® as a gel significantly reduces adhesion formation by 93 %.1


You can find further information on the product and its use for adhesion prevention in the current 4DryField® PH package information leaflet. Endoscopy and laparoscopy: 4DFLapTM is a single use applicator for manual administration of 4DryField® PH in endoscopic and laparoscopic surgery.


The following video shows an example of the use of 4DryField® PH to prevent (re-)adhesions; 4DryField® PH is applied as a powder and then transformed into a gel (hernia).




Extracorporeal gel preparation:

Extracorporeal gel preparation was introduced by Dr. Blumhardt (Unna) and is now also used by other surgeons. The following video shows Dr. Blumhardt’s technique for extracorporeal gel preparation with a 0.9% saline solution (5g 4DryField® PH + 60ml saline solution). He very successfully uses this procedure to treat patients after an adhesiolysis, for example, where the entire abdomen was previously immobilised by adhesions.



The following video shows how 4DryField® PH can be mixed extracorporeally.



Extracorporeal gel preparation in the field of gynaecology has been described in a recent publication (Korell et al. 2016). The authors Korell, Ziegler and De Wilde highlighted this form of gel preparation in a mixing ratio of 40 ml 0.9% saline solution per 5g 4DryField® PH as an effective and successful method.

Poehnert et al. (2015a) and Poehnert et al. (2016) used a mixing ratio of 5g 4DryField® PH with 20ml 0.9% saline solution in their studies.

 

What quantity of 4DryField® PH should be used for adhesion prevention?

The quantity of 4DryField® PH required depends on the surgical situation. It must be ensured that all areas needing protection are covered with 4DryField® PH gel. Up to 1g 4DryField® PH per kilogram of body weight can be used (Poehnert et al. 2015b).


If you have any questions on 4DryField® PH, you would like to discover new areas of application, or you’d like to share your experiences with 4DryField® PH, please feel free to contact us.


4DryField® PH is delivered as a powder and is transformed into a gel in situ. Please note, that for adhesion prevention the transformation of the powder into a gel (with saline solution, 0,9 %) is absolutely necessary! 4DryField® PH special features make it easy to use in open as well as in laparoscopic surgery.


 1 Poehnert et al. 2016 Int J Med Sci

Anwendung von 4DryField® PH zur Adhäsionsprophylaxe:

Mittels des Faltenbalg-Applikators wird 4DryField® PH großzügig auf alle Bereiche aufgesprüht, die vor Adhäsion geschützt werden sollen. Anschließend wird 4DryField® PH mit isotonischer Kochsalzlösung beträufelt, bis ein Gel die betroffene Fläche vollständig bedeckt. 4DryField® PH Gel sollte großzügig alle Bereiche bedecken, die vor Adhäsionsbildung geschützt werden sollen, um optimale Ergebnisse zu erzielen.

Um eine bestmögliche Adhäsionsprophylaxe zu erhalten, sollte sich zudem kein freies Blut im Situs befinden, das sich mit 4DryField® PH Gel vermischen könnte. Fibrin und andere Blutkomponenten, die das Gel kontaminieren, können dazu führen, dass die Behandlung nicht erfolgreich ist. Bitte stellen Sie daher sicher, dass eine ausreichende Hämostase erreicht ist, bevor Sie die Adhäsionsprophylaxe durchführen.


4DryField® als Gel reduziert die Adhäsionsbildung hochsignifikant um 93 %.1


Weiterführende Informationen zum Produkt und zu seiner Anwendung in der Adhäsionsprophylaxe finden Sie in der aktuellen 4DryField® PH Gebrauchsinformation. Endoskopie und Laparoskopie: 4DFLapTM ist ein Einmalapplikator zur manuellen Gabe des Medizinprodukts 4DryField® PH in der endoskopischen und laparoskopischen Chirurgie.


Das folgende Video zeigt ein Beispiel für die Adhäsionsprophylaxe mit 4DryField® PH zur Verhinderung von (Re-)Adhäsionen; 4DryField® PH wird als Pulver aufgetragen und anschließend in ein Gel transformiert (Hernie).



Extrakorporale Gelvorbereitung:

Die extrakorporale Gel-Vorbereitung wurde von Dr. Blumhardt (Unna) eingeführt und wird nun auch von anderen Chirurgen angewandt. Das folgende Video zeigt Dr. Blumhardts Technik zur extrakorporalen Gel-Vorbereitung mit 0,9%iger Kochsalzlösung (5 g 4DryField® PH + 60 ml Kochsalzlösung). Mit dieser Vorgehensweise behandelt er beispielsweise sehr erfolgreich Patienten nach einer Adhäsiolyse, bei denen zuvor das komplette Abdomen durch Adhäsionen immobilisiert war.



Das folgende Video zeigt, wie 4DryField® PH extrakorporal angemischt werden kann.



Die extrakorporale Gel-Vorbereitung in der Gynäkologie wurde in einer kürzlich erschienenen Publikation (Korell et al. 2016) beschrieben. Die Autoren Korell, Ziegler und De Wilde hoben diese Form der Gel-Vorbereitung in einem Mischungsverhältnis von 40 ml 0,9%iger Kochsalzlösung pro 5 g 4DryField® PH als effektive und erfolgreiche Methode hervor.

Poehnert et al. (2015a) und Poehnert et al. (2016) verwendeten in ihren Studien ein Mischungsverhältnis von 5 g 4DryField® PH mit 20 ml 0,9%iger Kochsalzlösung.


Welche Menge 4DryField® PH sollte zur Adhäsionsprophylaxe eingesetzt werden?

Die Menge an 4DryField® PH die benötigt wird, hängt von der intraoperativen Situation ab. Es sollte sichergestellt werden, dass alle Bereiche, die geschützt werden sollen, mit 4DryField® PH Gel bedeckt sind. Es können bis zu 1 g 4DryField® PH pro Kilogramm Körpergewicht eingesetzt werden (Poehnert et al. 2015b).

Wenn Sie Fragen zu 4DryField® PH haben, neue Anwendungsfelder entdecken möchten oder wenn Sie Ihre Erfahrungen mit 4DryField® PH teilen möchten, nehmen Sie gerne Kontakt mit uns auf.


4DryField® PH wird als Pulver geliefert und in situ in ein Gel transformiert. Bitte beachten Sie, dass zur Adhäsionsprophylaxe die Überführung des Pulvers in ein Gel (mit 0,9%iger Kochsalzlösung) absolut notwendig ist!


1 Poehnert et al. 2016 Int J Med Sci