Why does adhesion prevention make sense?

Postoperative adhesions play a prominent role in everyday clinical practice. Adhesions occur after approximately 75% of all operations on the abdomen – and this is regardless of whether the surgery was carried out by laparoscopy or laparotomy. In most cases, peritoneal defects are the origin and the cause of adhesions. They can also be caused by blood connected with a peritoneal trauma.

Adhesions are associated with postoperative complications, higher costs, and a heavier workload. In further surgery, adhesions may hamper a minimally invasive procedure and require more operating time e.g. for adhesiolysis. The risk of complications increases dramatically depending on the number and severity of previous operations. For patients, adhesions can result in chronic or recurrent pain, dyspareunia, infertility, and transit disorders – sometimes in the first year following surgery. The most serious complication is mechanical small intestine ileus, which is caused by adhesions in 65% to 75% of cases.

Read about how you can prevent postoperative adhesions.


How can adhesions be minimised?

Even the most careful surgical technique that is as minimally invasive as possible cannot prevent the occurrence of adhesions. Routine prevention of postoperative adhesions therefore makes sense and is advisable, especially in the case of abdominal surgery.

Postoperative healing without the formation of adhesions is facilitated by staunching bleeding and supporting peritonealisation. 4DryField® PH is the only certified medical device in Europe that is approved for haemostasis AND adhesion prevention.

Find out more about 4DryField® PH.

Warum ist eine Adhäsionsprophylaxe sinnvoll?

Im klinischen Alltag spielen postoperative Adhäsionen eine bedeutende Rolle. Adhäsionen treten nach etwa 75% aller Operationen im Bauchraum auf – und zwar unabhängig davon, ob diese laparoskopisch oder per Laparotomie durchgeführt werden. Meist sind peritoneale Defekte Ausgangspunkt und Ursache von Adhäsionen. Auch Blut in Verbindung mit einem peritonealen Trauma kann Adhäsionen hervorrufen.

Verwachsungen sind assoziiert mit postoperativen Komplikationen, höheren Kosten und stärkerer Arbeitsbelastung. Bei erneuten Eingriffen können Adhäsionen ein minimal-invasives Vorgehen erschweren und mehr OP-Zeit beanspruchen, z.B. für die Adhäsiolyse. In Abhängigkeit von Anzahl und Schweregrad der Voroperationen steigt das Komplikationsrisiko dramatisch an. Für den Patienten können Adhäsionen chronische oder rezidivierende Schmerzen, Dyspareunie, Infertilität und Passagestörungen zur Folge haben – manchmal erst Jahre nach dem Eingriff. Die schwerwiegendste Komplikation ist der mechanische Dünndarm-Ileus, der in 65% bis 75% der Fälle adhäsionsbedingt ist.

Lesen Sie, wie Sie postoperativen Verwachsungen vorbeugen können. 


Wie lassen sich Adhäsionen verringern?

Auch die sorgfältigste, möglichst minimalinvasive Operationstechnik vermag das Auftreten von Verwachsungen nicht zu verhindern. Eine routinemäßige Prophylaxe postoperativer Adhäsionen ist daher insbesondere bei abdominellen Eingriffen sinnvoll und empfehlenswert.

Eine postoperative Heilung ohne Adhäsionsbildung wird begünstigt, indem Blutungen gestillt und die Peritonealisierung unterstützt werden. 4DryField® PH ist europaweit das einzige zertifizierte Medizinprodukt, das zur Blutstillung UND zur Adhäsionsprophylaxe zugelassen ist.

Erfahren Sie mehr über 4DryField® PH.


Interessante Informationen zum Thema Verwachsungen finden Sie auch hier.